Ranking the Top 10 Songs by The Wallflowers

1. One Headlight
According to Jakob Dylan, the song is about the death of ideas. While the song didn’t make it into the top Billboard, rise to number 2 in the Airplay chart. Each of these songs were written by Jakob Dylan.
2. Three Marlenas
According to Jakob Dylan, Three Marlenas is about the three personalities of one girl named Marlena. Marlena makes choices, but she doesn’t know which of her personalities is speaking to her. Each verse is a different aspect of Marlena. He claims that we all have different parts of our personality.
3. 6th Avenue Heartache
This was Jakob Dylan’s first real song, written when he was 18-years-old. The song is about his experiences being in New York City for the first time.
4. All Things New Again
The song means looking at the world through fresh eyes as if things were new. People need to look at the world through a positive and happy perspective.
5. Laughing Out Loud
The young man is involved in a volatile relationship, and yet he still loves the girl who is taking advantage of him. He’s getting the courage to walk away, and the joke will be on her when he does.
6. Closer to You
Being obsessed with a past relationship is the subject of this song. No matter where he goes he thinks of her and feels closer to her. He wishes this relationship had not ended.
7. How Good Can It Get
This is a song about two people. One of them is upset and afraid to love because she has been hurt. The guy is saying that she can become a great lover if she lets him help her.
8. God Says Nothing Back
This song deals with love, death, and time. The part about the world going underground where no gods or heroes go, perhaps means that God is missing in an unjust world.
9. The Difference
This song suggests that it could be about Jakob’s father, Bob Dylan. Two boys camping down by the river, perhaps it’s Jakob and his dad. The dad perhaps says that no matter how old you get, you never really change.
10. We’re Already There
This song takes place in Portland, Oregon. It looks like they traveled by train. It is probably about success on the road, traveling in the cities and dancing in fancy ball rooms.

Reminiscing the Wallflowers

The Wallflowers formed in 1989 and emerged with their eponymous first album in 1992. Their 1996 album, “Bringing Down The Horse,” is their most popular to date and featured their break-through hit, “One Headlight.” The band followed this album with a cover of David Bowie’s “Heroes” which was featured in the ill-received 1998 remake of the film “Godzilla.”

Listening to songs by the Wallflowers and David Bowie one can find many similarities. Jacob Dylan’s voice has a similar lower tone to David Bowie’s. Both bands make frequent use of harmonization during their songs as well as utilize the piano in their songs. When one first hears The Wallflower’s cover of “Heroes” as if they never heard David Bowie’s version most would not find it at all unusual with their style. This is also true if the band were to have also done a cover of David Bowie’s “China Girl.”
The bands co-headlined a tour with Counting Crows between their release of “Bringing Down The Horse” and their cover of “Heroes.” The two bands have both released two albums. The most popular song of Counting Crows is “Mr. Jones” which features the sentiment, “I wanna be Bob Dylan,” a nod to Jacob’s Father, Bob. Both bands have lyrics dealing with loss, love and angst. Instrumentally there is significant use of keyboards. The overwhelming focus is on the lead singer and front man of their groups whom both write most of the songs for their respective bands and maintain the center of attention on stage and in publicity.
Matchbox Twenty’s Rob Thomas is the face of the band and like Jacob Dylan went on to do solo work. The band is in the same “90’s alternative” category as the Wallflowers. Both bands make ample use of instruments other than the typical drum, bass and guitar. The band Semisonic also has a similar sound with lyrics pertaining to a specific vignette in a person’s life. The Gin Blossoms follow this pattern but feature more nostalgia.
The Wallflowers created three albums after “Bringing Down The Horse,” went on a seven year hiatus and then released, “Glad All Over” in 2012. They are still together and last toured in December of 2014.